Governing Bodies at the University

Every student is a member of the student body by law. The student body is divided into two structures: the student councils, which represent the students directly in their departments, and the student parliament (SP) with the General Student Committee (AStA). There are also student representatives on the academic committees, including the respective faculty councils and the Senate.

The current statutes of the student body and the fee regulations according to which the semester fees are charged are available on the website of the student parliament.

Constituted student body

Student Parliament


Student representatives

A department’s student body is made up of the students enrolled in a particular academic discipline. The student body of each department elects representatives on an annual basis, to form the student council. Depending on the number of students in a department, the student council may delegate certain responsibilities to an additional body, formed of selected members of the student council. The student council represents the interests of the student members of each department, and acts as the interface between the institute management and students. It also works with administrative bodies which require student representation. This includes the executive committees and curriculum commissions of the various institutes which hold responsibility for the conception and development of degree programs, and examination boards which take decisions pertaining to the application of study and examination regulations and develop regulations governing individual matters.

Student councils are a key point of contact for first-semester students. They enable new students to forge contacts and familiarize themselves with the university environment.

The student councils organize introductory events for new students and provide students with advice and support about their degree course.
Many student councils organize an orientation week for new students, including a breakfast for first-semester students, a scavenger hunt to introduce new students to the city of Bonn or pub evenings. It also organizes trips in the region (e.g. a long weekend in the Eifel Mountains).
The majority of student councils publish an information brochure aimed at first-semester students, providing useful tips and information about the university, and often a proposed timetable for the first semester.

Academic bodies


The Senate is one of the central bodies of the University. In accordance with the Constitution of the University of Bonn, the Senate is made up of 24 voting members.  Members of the Rectorate, the deans of the seven faculties, the University Gender Equality Commissioner, the chairpersons of the two staff councils, a representative from the Office of Disability Resources, the Representative for Students with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses and the chairperson of the General Students’ Committee also sit on the senate as non-voting advisory members. The Senate is chaired by a voting member drawn from the professorial representatives.

See further information:

Faculty Councils


University Council

Unfortunately, students are not represented on the University Council, which among other things elects the Rectorate of the University.